:::「 蔡英文, Fuck You! 」

Jack Welch 曾經是 GE 這個全世界最大公司的總裁兼董事長,財富 (Fortune) 推舉他為二十世紀最佳經理人。

他寫了一本暢銷書書,叫做 Straight from Guts 「直接來自膽識」。

其中有一段故事,令我印象深刻。

. . . When I appointed Bill Conaty our new senior VP for human resources in November 1993, I told him that our biggest job was to select the next CEO of the company. … to take over in 2001.

. . . After the board unanimously and wholeheartedly approved Jeff as chairman-elect on November 24, I called him at 5:30. . . .

. . . I was dreading the next day when I had to tell Bob and Jim that they weren’t getting the job. . . .

. . . I wasn’t about to tell either candidate that he was not going to be CEO over the phone.  I owed each one the opportunity to look me in the eye as I told him the news. . . .

. . . We left Palm Beach . . . and arrived at . . . Cincinati around 5:30 P.M. airport at 3:00 p.m.  . . . Jim was already there. . . .

“Obviously," I said, “this si going to be the toughest conversation of my life." . . . “I picked Jeff.  If there’s anyone to be mad at, be mad at me.  Put my picture on the wall and throw darts at it. . . . “

We flew . . . into a deserted airport in Albany around 9:00 P.M. . . .

Bob showed up on time, ten minutes after I arrived. . . .

I told him the news, and his disappointment was visible. . . .

Again, I tried to soften his disappointment.

。 。當我在 1993年11月任命康蒂為新的人事資深副總裁時 ,我告訴他,我們最重要的工作就是選擇公司下任的總執行長 ( CEO) 在2001年接管。

。 。 。經過董事會於 11月24日一致且全心地批准傑夫為下一任的董事長(兼 CEO ),我在5:30打電話給他 ( 傑夫 )。 。 。 。

。 。 。我對於第二天我必須告訴鮑勃和吉姆(註 : 另外兩位競事者)他們落選而感到害怕。 。 。 。

。 。 。我不用電話告訴任何候選人他的落選。我欠他們看著我的眼睛、由我告訴他這個消息的機會。 。 。 。

。 。 。我們離開棕櫚灘(註﹕在福羅里達州)。 。 。大約下午5點 30分抵達。 。 。 Cincinati (註﹕在俄亥俄州)機場。 。 。吉姆已經在那裡。 。 。 。

我說 : 「顯然,這將成為我生命中最因難的談話。」 。 。 。 「我選擇了傑夫。如果你要對任何人會生氣,請對我生氣。把我的照片貼在牆上,用飛鏢射它。。。。」

下午9時 00分左右我們飛到。 。 。一個像是被廢棄(註 : 感恩節夜晚)奧爾巴尼 機場(註 : 在紐約州)。 。 。

我告訴鮑勃這個消息,他的失望明顯可見。 。 。 。

我再一次試圖軟化他的失望。

這件事的啟示 :

  1. 領導人的訓練和選擇極為重要。
  2. 落選人非常需要安撫。雖然很難過,Jack Welch 在第一時間還是坐著飛機飛來飛去,就只是要當面告訴落選人壞消息。
  3. 在大眾知道之前,落選人應該先被告知。
  4. 要當選人安撫落選人是行不通的。

西方人講求手段,但是做事符合人性。

臺灣社會講人情,做起事來卻不考慮人性。

( 蔡英文主席在高雄、台南初選後的作為,令我想到這個故事。我覺得可惜,小英應該可以做得更好。)

Comments on: "領導者 . 落選者 . 人性" (3)

  1. 受中國文化影響, 台灣文化也有殘忍的特質.

    喜歡

  2. 臺灣社會講人情,做起事來卻不考慮人性。
    說的好

    喜歡

  3. 直接來自膽識

    喜歡

發表迴響

標籤雲

